Governor Umahi reshuffles cabinet

Governor Umahi



Ebonyi Governor David Umahi has effected a major reshuffle of his cabinet.

Secretary to the State Government, Kenneth Ugbala, announced this in a statement in Abakaliki on Monday night.

No reason was given for the changes, which affected over 20 appointees.

According to the statement, the Chief of Staff, Emmanuel Offor Okorie, has been redeployed to the Ebonyi State Broadcasting Service to serve as chairman of the Governing Board.

The Governor named former Accountant General and Permanent Secretary UBEB

Queen Elizabeth Agwu as Acting Chief of Staff.

Also, the Commissioner for Budget and Planning, Chinwe Okah is to serve as Commissioner in charge of Market Development and Management.

Prof Ogbonnaya Chukwu is deployed from the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development to Commerce and Industry.

Moses Oshibe, the Commissioner in charge of Ministry of Lands and Survey, is to head the Ministry of Rice Mills Development.

Barrister Orji Uchenna Orji, who was doubling as the Commissioner for Information and State Orientation as well as  Acting Commissioner in charge of Human Capital Development and

Monitoring, is to be in charge of Information and State Orientation only.

Also the Commissioner for Environment, Emmanual Uguru, is to take over as Commissioner for Lands and Survey

Jonah Egba, formerly in charge of Ministry of Solid Mineral Development Communities, is the Commissioner for Environment

Chief Donatus Njoku, the Commissioner for Commerce and Industry is new Commissioner for Solid Mineral Development.

The Governor also reshuffled some other principle officers of Government.

These include:  Mrs. Mojibade Ekuma Special SA- Finace now Acting Accountant General; Mr. Emeka C. Nwankwo – SA-ICT now SA-Finace and ICT; Mrs. Chinyere Udoka – SA-Women Affairs (Central) now SA-Capital City; Princess Francisca Okeke – SA-Women Affairs (South) now SA – Market Lot 1; Emeka Kenan Ofoke –SA-Market now SA-Market Lot 2; Chukwuma S. Ofoke – SA-Housing now SA-Market Lot 3.

Others are Philip Eworo – SA-Purvalization Plant now SA-Market Lot 4; Mrs. Nwakaego Nworie – Executive Assistant now SA-Market Lot 5;

The reshufflement also affected some Permanent Secretaries with Mrs Christaina O. Ukwuta , Accountant General now named the Permanent Secretary UBEB and Internal Revenue Services.

Also Mr. Moses O. Agama, the Permanent Secretary Ministry of Finance and Economic Developmet is the Permanent Secretary Ministry of Finance and Economic Development in-charge of Admin, Accounts, Salaries, Pensions and Returns.

Mrs. Patricia Okorie – Permanent Secretary Ministry of Budget and Planning now Permanent Secretary Ministry of Finance and Economic Development in-charge of Budget, Audit, Debt Management Office (DMO) and SFTAS.

The Governor also appointed Mrs. Patience Offor Okorie as SA Welfare, Wife of the Governor’s Office.

The reshuffle/redeployment and appointments, according to Ugbala, takes effect from 1st July, 2020.

The statement directed that all handing over and taking-over to be completed on or before 1st July 2020. (The Nation)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.